What are spreadsheet versions?

With Layer, you can be confident that you will not lose any data or essential changes when managing inputs from multiple people. Every time you accept a change from one of your recipients, a new file version is logged. You can browse this change history and even revert to an older version if you need to.

When we refer to your main file (or master file), this is the most up-to-date copy of the spreadsheet. Your source of truth!

How do I revert to an older version of my spreadsheet?

  1. Go to your file and open the "Versions" page.

  2. Download the version you want to revert to (you'll find the download option by clicking the three dots next to the respective version).

  3. Upload the downloaded spreadsheet as a new version to Layer either in the file list (click on the three dots on the right of the file) or directly on the "Versions" page.

Can I keep working on my spreadsheet locally?

You can download your spreadsheet to continue working on your spreadsheet on your local computer. After you have made your changes, you will need to re-upload the latest version.

  1. Go to your file and open the "Versions" page.

  2. Upload your latest version.

Note: If your edited and uploaded version includes structural changes (e.g.., added or deleted rows and columns), your changes might affect the shared ranges of spreadsheets you have shared with your team, and they might be outdated. Check your flows to make sure your team is working with the most up-to-date version.


Need help setting up your Flows?

Let us show you how to make the most of Layer and start building better workflows today.

Schedule an onboarding call with Layer
Did this answer your question?