Layer allows you to lock cells when sharing a spreadsheet workflow. That way, you can protect sensitive data before sharing it with your collaborators by making it uneditable.

To lock cells:

  • Select a range of unlocked cells when creating a new flow.

  • Right-click the selected range.

  • Select "Lock Cells".

To unlock cells:

  • Select a range of locked cells when creating a new flow.

  • Right-click the selected range.

  • Select "Unlock Cells".

How can I tell if a cell is locked?

A lock icon will be displayed in the cell to indicate that it's locked. A green lock will be displayed for shared cells and a grey one for unshared ones.

How do locked cells work for collaborators?

The way that locked cells work for collaborators depends on the format of the shared file:

  • Excel: Cells are locked using the Excel feature. They are uneditable, and the sheet is protected.

  • Layer Sheets: Cells are not editable.

  • Google Sheets: We don't currently support locked cells when sharing via Google Sheets

Why can't I see the lock/unlock option?

The options shown to lock or unlock cells depend on the selected cell range:

  • If the selected range consists of unlocked cells, only the "Lock Cells" option will be shown.

  • If the selected range consists of locked cells, only the "Unlock Cells" option will be shown.

  • If the selected range consists of both locked and unlocked cells, both options will be shown.

  • If the entire sheet is selected, both options will be shown.

Why can't I lock my cells?

You can't lock a range of cells that is partially or fully outside your shared range. You will receive a message informing you that only locked cells inside the shared range will be locked and shared.


Need help setting up your Flows?

Let us show you how to make the most of Layer and start building better workflows today.

Schedule an onboarding call with Layer
Did this answer your question?