A Flow is a shared part of your main file. Creating a Flow generates a new file only with the selected cell ranges or sheets.

To share or collect data from your collaborators, you need to upload an Excel file or connect a Google Sheet, and set up a Flow to share access to a specific part of your file.

As time goes by and you update your main file, some of your Flows might fall behind and need to be updated to sync with the latest changes from the main file.

How to keep your Flows up-to-date?

After reviewing a data submission and accepting or rejecting input, the Flow will be automatically updated with any changes from the main file. This means that anyone working on the Flow will see the outcome of the changes and have access to the latest version of the Flow

If you manually update your main file, either by uploading a new Excel version, syncing the connected Google Sheet, or syncing the file using the Excel plugin, you will have the option to update all outdated Flows.

You can tell which flows are now out of date by looking for this icon

Why is my Flow marked as outdated without any changes between the latest versions?

The out-of-date label signifies a new version of your master file, whether any values changed or not.

For example, if you upload the latest version of your file to Layer without making any changes to it, it will still be marked as out-of-date since a new file version was detected. In that case, you can ignore the out-of-date warning if you know that the Flow was not impacted.

Example Use Case

Mark uploaded an Operations Excel file to Layer with the following sheets; Summary, Actuals, HR, P&L. He creates 3 flows:

  • Flow 1 includes Summary, Actuals, and P&L.

  • Flow 2 includes Summary, only the Design team section from the HR sheet.

  • Flow 3 includes Summary, only the Engineering team section from the HR sheet.

Mark uploads a new version of the file where he added data to the Actuals sheet, causing all Flows to display the out-of-date sign.

Mark chooses to update Flow 1 because the Summary tab is impacted by the changes to the Actuals sheet. However, Mark does not need to update the HR flows because there are no impacted changes to the HR tab.

After the end of the quarter when all data submissions have taken place, Mark updates all the Flows. All collaborators will now have updated and consolidated details that are relevant to them through the shared summary sheet without being exposed to the underlying details.


Need help setting up your Flows?

Let us show you how to make the most of Layer and start building better workflows today.

Schedule an onboarding call with Layer
Did this answer your question?